Meet the ICYMARE 2019 BREMEN awardees and their topics for best talks and posters! Congratulations again, you did amazing jobs! Each awardee was presented a book voucher provided by our partner Springer Nature and a nice certificate.

In the picture (from left to right): Simon Jungblut, Claudia Meneses, Ramón Alejandro Plazas Gómez, Luka Seamus Wright, Arianna Liconti, Eva Paulus, Viola Liebich


  1. Nils Hutter (Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Bremerhaven, Germany):
    Breaking the ice: What sea-ice models need to learn from Broccoli to better predict climate change
  2. Ramón Alejandro Plazas Gómez (University of Bremen, Germany):
    Otolith shape analysis (OSA) as a tool for population identification of invasive lionfish (Pterois volitans) in the Colombian Caribbean
  3. Arianna Liconti (University of Plymouth, United Kingdom):
    A Multisource Approach to Prioritise Conservation of Gorgonian Forests in Italian Coastal Waters



  1. Luka Seamus Wright (University of Plymouth, United Kingdom):
    Sequestration of carbon from Laminaria kelp forests may be diminished in a warmer climate
  2. Eva Paulus (University of Groningen, Netherlands):
    Origin of deep-sea hydrothermal vent copepods along the Mid-Atlantic Ridge
  3. Claudia Meneses (Ghent University, Belgium):
    Global patterns of seaweed species diversity